Byron gives Hendrick even more reason to celebrate in Martinsville. Verstappen takes another F1 victory


All Times Eastern


AutoTrader EchoPark Automotive 400

Location: Fort Worth, Texas.

Schedule: Saturday, practice, 10:30 a.m. and qualifying, 11:20 a.m.; Sunday, race, 3:30 p.m. (FS1).

Track: Texas Motor Speedway.

Race distance: 267 laps, 400.5 miles.

William Byron, center, celebrates with crew members in Victory Lane after receiving the trophy for winning the NASCAR Cup Series auto race at Martinsville Speedway on Sunday, April 7, 2024, in Martinsville, Virginia. Photo credit: AP/Chuck Burton

Last year: William Byron won after starting 18th at the end of September.

Final Race: Byron maintained the lead throughout a two-lap race to the finish, leading Hendrick Motorsports to a 1-2-3 finish at Martinsville, the first for a team in the track's history.

Quick Facts: The win was Byron's third in eight races. … Kyle Larson finished second and Chase Elliott third in the 40th anniversary of the team's first win. … Larson also took the points lead by 14 points over former leader Martin Truex Jr. … Despite his three wins, Byron sits in fourth place, 48 points behind Larson. … There were 13 lead changes among eight drivers. … The victory was Hendrick's 29th at the 0.526-mile oval, the most for any organization at any track.

Next race: April 21, Talladega, Alabama.

William Byron (24) leads Alex Bowman (48) out of Turn 4 during a NASCAR Cup Series auto race at Martinsville Speedway in Martinsville, Va., Sunday, April 7, 2024. Photo credit: AP/Chuck Burton



Andy's Frozen Custard 300

Location: Fort Worth, Texas.

Schedule: Friday, practice, 6:00 p.m. and qualifying, 6:30 p.m.; Saturday, race, 1:30 p.m. (FS1).

Track: Texas Motor Speedway.

Race distance: 200 laps, 300 miles.

Last year: John Hunter Nemechek won after starting 11th in late September.

Last race: Aric Almirola took the lead by missing a three-pointer on the outside in a two-lap overtime to the finish and won at Martinsville.

Quick Facts: Almirola led six times over 148 laps in his fifth career victory in the series. He also won $100,000 for finishing first among four drivers eligible for the Dash for Cash. … Chandler Smith finished third and extended his lead to 35 points over Austin Hill. Smith is the only driver to finish in the top 10 in all seven races. … Carson Kvapil finished fourth in his series debut. … The race included 15 lead changes, eight different leaders and 11 cautions.

Next race: April 20, Talladega, Alabama.



Location: Fort Worth, Texas.

Schedule: Friday, practice, 4:05 p.m., qualifying, 4:35 p.m. and race, 8:30 p.m. (FS1).

Track: Texas Motor Speedway.

Race distance: 167 laps. 250.5 miles.

Last year: Carson Hocevar won fifth.

Last race: Christian Eckes recovered from 19th place to overtake pole winner Ty Majeski at Martinsville.

Quick Facts: Eckes led the first 104 laps and then regained the lead on the 172nd of 200 laps. … The win was the second for Eckes this season. He also won at another short track in Bristol. … Majeski took a seven-point lead over Corey Heim and Tyler Ankrum.

Next race: May 4, Kansas City, Kansas.



Last race: Max Verstappen won for the third time in four races this season. The victory in Japan was also his 22nd in the last 26 races.

Next race: April 21st, Shanghai, China.



Last race: Two-time and reigning IndyCar champion Alex Palou won the Thermal $1 Million Challenge, leading all 20 laps in the first non-points IndyCar race since 2008.

Next race: April 21, Long Beach, California.



Last event: Shawn Langdon won Top Fuel and Austin Prock won Funny Car at Arizona.

Next event: April 14, Las Vegas.



Next events: April 12 and 13, Pevely, Missouri.