CAR RACING: Byron gives Hendrick even more reason to celebrate in Martinsville. Verstappen takes another F1 victory


AutoTrader EchoPark Automotive 400

Schedule: Saturday, practice, 10:30 a.m. and qualifying, 11:20 a.m.; Sunday, race, 3:30 p.m. (FS1).

Track: Texas Motor Speedway.

Race distance: 267 laps, 400.5 miles.

Last year: William Byron won after starting 18th at the end of September.

Final Race: Byron maintained the lead throughout a two-lap race to the finish, leading Hendrick Motorsports to a 1-2-3 finish at Martinsville, the first for a team in the track's history.

Quick Facts: The win was Byron's third in eight races. … Kyle Larson finished second and Chase Elliott third in the 40th anniversary of the team's first win. … Larson also took the points lead by 14 points over former leader Martin Truex Jr. … Despite his three wins, Byron sits in fourth place, 48 points behind Larson. … There were 13 lead changes among eight drivers. … The victory was Hendrick's 29th at the 0.526-mile oval, the most for any organization at any track.

Next race: April 21, Talladega, Alabama.


Andy's Frozen Custard 300

Schedule: Friday, practice, 6:00 p.m. and qualifying, 6:30 p.m.; Saturday, race, 1:30 p.m. (FS1).

Track: Texas Motor Speedway.

Race distance: 200 laps, 300 miles.

Last year: John Hunter Nemechek won after starting 11th in late September.

Last race: Aric Almirola took the lead by missing a three-pointer on the outside in a two-lap overtime to the finish and won at Martinsville.

Quick Facts: Almirola led six times over 148 laps in his fifth career victory in the series. He also won $100,000 for finishing first among four drivers eligible for the Dash for Cash. … Chandler Smith finished third and extended his lead to 35 points over Austin Hill. Smith is the only driver to finish in the top 10 in all seven races. … Carson Kvapil finished fourth in his series debut. … The race included 15 lead changes, eight different leaders and 11 cautions.

Next race: April 20, Talladega, Alabama.


Schedule: Friday, practice, 4:05 p.m., qualifying, 4:35 p.m. and race, 8:30 p.m. (FS1).

Track: Texas Motor Speedway.

Race distance: 167 laps. 250.5 miles.

Last year: Carson Hocevar won fifth.

Last race: Christian Eckes recovered from 19th place to overtake pole winner Ty Majeski at Martinsville.

Quick Facts: Eckes led the first 104 laps and then regained the lead on the 172nd of 200 laps. … The win was the second for Eckes this season. He also won at another short track in Bristol. … Majeski took a seven-point lead over Corey Heim and Tyler Ankrum.

Next race: May 4, Kansas City, Kansas.


Last race: Max Verstappen won for the third time in four races this season. The victory in Japan was also his 22nd in the last 26 races.

Next race: April 21st, Shanghai, China.


Last race: Two-time and reigning IndyCar champion Alex Palou won the Thermal $1 Million Challenge, leading all 20 laps in the first non-points IndyCar race since 2008.

Next race: April 21, Long Beach, California.


Last event: Shawn Langdon won Top Fuel and Austin Prock won Funny Car at Arizona.

Next event: April 14, Las Vegas.


Next events: April 12 and 13, Pevely, Missouri.


AP Auto Racing: and