Ford Performance – 2024 Texas Advance – Speedway Digest


Texas Motor Speedway will host the sixth tripleheader of the 2024 season, spotlighting each of NASCAR's top touring series. The NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series opens the weekend Friday evening with the NASCAR Xfinity Series on Saturday and the NASCAR Cup Series on Sunday.

LOGANO climbs in the overall ranking

Joey Logano has found his rhythm over the last two weeks with finishes of second (Richmond) and sixth (Martinsville), including an 84-lap lead on Sunday. These performances have seen the 2022 series champion move up eight places in the points standings, from 22nd to 14th, and he will be looking to add one win (2014) and twelve top-five finishes at a track -Placements to climb even higher 28 career starts.


Ford has 15 NASCAR Cup Series victories at Texas Motor Speedway, with nine drivers having at least one. Kevin Harvick snapped a streak of three straight playoff victories at the 1.5-mile track from 2017 to 2019 and is tied with Carl Edwards, who has three Ford victories in his career, including a season win in 2008. Greg Biffle and Matt Kenseth each won two. Joey Logano, Mark Martin, Jeff Burton, Dale Jarrett and Elliott Sadler each won one.


Jack Roush has had a few early wins at Texas Motor Speedway as Mark Martin (NXS) and Jeff Burton (Cup) won the opening weekend in 1997. In total, Roush has won nine times in both the Cup and Xfinity Series. Greg Biffle recorded a win in the NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series in 2000. With these nine Cup victories, he is tied with Dover Motor Speedway for third place on the all-time Roush list. The only tracks that were better were Michigan International Speedway (14) and Bristol Motor Speedway (12).

RYAN BLANEY: “I think Texas has been kind of a work in progress over the last few years or since the repaving. It's okay. How can we make it wider? How can we improve racing there? We'll see if that has changed in the last year. I'm not sure if that's the case, but we'll find out. I enjoy Texas. What makes Texas interesting is the commitment the driver must have to go there. Their commitment until three and four is just huge. And that’s always a pretty fun aspect of this race track for me.”

The pass on the last lap leads to Logano's victory

Joey Logano's first Cup win at TMS came in 2014 in a race that was postponed to Monday due to rain. Logano dominated much of the second half, but a caution with two laps to go forced a green-white-checkered finish. He started third on the restart after the leaders stopped on pit road and was able to get past Jeff Gordon on the final lap to secure the win. Logano led 108 of the final 116 laps and took the first of five victories this season.


On April 6, 1997, a few firsts occurred when Texas Motor Speedway hosted the first NASCAR Cup Series event and Jeff Burton saw the checkered flag for the first time. Burton, led by crew chief Buddy Parrott, overtook Todd Bodine with 58 laps to go and beat fellow Ford driver Dale Jarrett by four seconds to the finish line. The race was slowed by ten cautions, including a multi-car accident in the first corner of the first lap. Burton won 21 series races in his career, 17 of which were in a Thunderbird or Taurus.


Cole Custer returns to Texas Motor Speedway, where he recorded his second career series win in 2018 and punched his ticket to the championship finale. Custer battled Tyler Reddick over the final two laps, finally coming to the side coming out of turn two on the final lap and completing the crucial pass on the backstretch. Custer was able to pull away coming out of turn three and won by 0.162 seconds. In seven career Series starts at the Fort Worth track, Custer posted a 5.0 start and finish average of 9.0. He has six top-10 finishes, including a sixth-place finish last season in which he led 28 laps.


Ty Majeski is still hoping for his first win of the season, but his second-place finish at Martinsville Speedway moved him to the top of the NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series points standings for the first time this year. This was Majeski's second runner-up finish of the year and allowed him to move up one place and gain a seven-point lead over the field. The last time Majeski led the series standings was a year ago, when he held the top spot for four straight weeks in April and May.

Ford Performance PR

Speedway Digest Staff
Latest posts from Speedway Digest Staff (See everything)

Post views: 8th