North Carolina State University


CARY, N.C. – NC State Catcher Jacob Cozart has been named to USA Baseball's Golden Spikes Award Midseason Watchlist, the organization announced Thursday afternoon. The Golden Spikes Award is presented annually to the nation's top amateur baseball player.

Cozart, a junior from High Point, is one of just 45 student-athletes named to this year's Midseason Watch List. He is one of only eight repeat honorees to make the 2023 Midseason Watch List.

Cozart is batting .330 with six home runs, three doubles and 21 RBI this season. He ranks second on the NC State roster with a .475 on-base percentage and leads the team with 25 walks, recording six more walks than strikeouts in 26 games played this season.

In ACC play, Cozart has batted .326 in 12 league games and is second on the team with 15 hits against ACC opponents. He also has two doubles and seven RBI in league play so far this season.

Defensively, Cozart has thrown out seven baserunners attempting to steal in 11 attempts and hit opposing runners for a .611 batting average. He leads the Wolfpack with 191 putouts.

D1Baseball recently named Cozart the 22nd overall college prospect in the upcoming 2024 MLB Draft. According to the D1Baseball Week 6 player rankings released on March 27, Cozart was also ranked as the fifth-best catcher in the country.

Fan voting will again play a role in the Golden Spikes Award in 2024. Baseball fans can vote for their favorite players, beginning May 20 with the naming of semifinalists. USA Baseball will announce the finalists for the award on June 5 and fan voting will reopen at before closing on June 21st.

The Golden Spikes Award 2024 schedule is as follows:

  • May 20: The Golden Spikes Award semi-finalists are announced and fan voting begins
  • 3rd of June: Fan voting for the Golden Spikes Award semifinalists ends
  • June 5th: The Golden Spikes Award finalists are announced and fan voting begins
  • June 21st: Fan voting for the Golden Spikes Award finalists ends
  • June 22: Golden Spikes Award winners announced